Research Group





Contact Me

Steiner Research Group

Data Lab: North Campus, Space Research Building (SRB) 2028
Phone: 734.936.0511

At the wave field, Fall 2019: Daniel Huber, Allison Steiner, Yingxiao Zhang (front), Samar Minallah, Dandan Wei, Anahita Farahani (back)

Postdoctoral Fellows
Dandan Wei Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 2018 Email:
Anahita Farahani Ph.D., University of California, Riverside, 2018 Email:
Tamanna Subba Ph.D., Dibrugarh University, India, 2019 Email:

Graduate Students
Samar Minallah CLaSP Ph.D. Candidate B.S. National University of Science and Technology, Pakistan, 2012, M.S. University of Michigan 2016 Email:
Daniel Huber (co-advised with Eric Kort) CLaSP Ph.D. Candidate B.S. Atmospheric Science University of California, Davis, 2018 Email:
Yingxiao Zhang CLaSP Ph.D Candidate B.S. Atmopsheric Sciences, Nanjing University, 2019 Email:

Undergraduate Students
Lunia Oriol CLaSP B.S. student (Climate concentration) Email:

Group Alumni (Years) and Current Affiliation
Postdocs R. Christopher Owen (2009-2010) U.S. EPA/OAR/OAQPS/AQAD Kirsti Ashworth (2013-2016) Lancaster University, UK Thiago dos Santos (2017-2019) Brazil
Ph.D. Students Ahmed Tawfik (2007-2012) Voith Digital Solutions, Raleigh, North Carolina Alex Bryan (2009-2014) Integrated Environmental Data, LLC, Berne, NY Susan Cheng (2010-2016) Data Analytics and Course Assessment Consultant, UM CRLT Stacey Kawecki (2011-2017) Weatherflow, Inc., Fort Collins, CO Yang Li (2012-2017) Assistant Professor, Baylor University Matthew Wozniak (2014-2019) Postdoctoral Fellow, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory Annareli Morales (2014-2019) NCAR Advanced Studies Program (ASP) Postdoctoral Fellow Samantha Basile (2013-2019) National Climate Assessment/ICF International
M.S. Students Kevin Kuo (2012-2013) EDF Climate Fellow Melissa Zagorski (2010-2012) UM School of Natural Resources and the Environment Dori Mermelstein (2013-2014) Accenture Samantha Basile (2013-2015) CLaSP Ph.D. student, now at ICF Alicia Revazzo (2017) CEE M.S. student Sakina Alblooshi (2019-2020)
UM Undergraduates Adam Davis (2008-2010) Ph.D. Student, Colorado State University Soyee Chiu (2009-2010) Research Scientist, Columbia University Jennifer DeHart (2009-2010) Ph.D. Student, University of Washington Jingyi Bao (2011-2012) Ph.D. Student, University of California, Berkeley Dori Mermelstein (2010-2013) M.S. Student, AOSS, University of Michigan Barbara Doyle (2012-2013) B.S. Student, AOSS, University of Michigan Jordan Swift (2014-2015) B.S. Student, AOSS, University of Michigan Kimberly Channel (2014-2016) B.S. Student, CLaSP, University of Michigan Peiyun Zhu (2015-2017) Ph.D. student, Stanford University Karlie Wells (2017-2018) US Army Corps of Engineers Sarah Hutchinson (2018-2020) M.Eng. Applied Climate student, University of Michigan
REU Advisees Abraham Botros (Summer 2010) M.S. Student, Stanford University Joy Cripe (Summer 2011) Western Illinois University undergraduate Morgan McCabe (Summer 2012) New College of Florida undergraduate Samuel Pennypacker (Summer 2014) University of Washington, Ph.D. student Olivia Vanbuskirk (Summer 2019) Central Michigan University undergraduate
Visiting Scientists Hayley McIntosh (Fall 2008) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Cape Town, South Africa Cristina Davila Arriaga (Summer 2013) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil Thanos Tsikerdekis (May-December 2015) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Thessaloniki, Greece Sarah Kavassalis (Sept-December 2016) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Toronto, Canada Vladimir Ivanov (January-July 2017) Visiting Scientist, National Institute of Geophysics, Geodesy and Geography of Bulgarian Academy of Sciences Serafeim Kontos (June-October 2017) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Thessaloniki, Greece